The Roth Bloom Law Firm http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/ Recent Posts en-us Mon, 10 Dec 2018 14:58:21 -0500 Should I Reaffirm My Mortgage? http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/should-i-reaffirm-my-mortgage/ 2016-02-12 12:49:40 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/should-i-reaffirm-my-mortgage/ Should I Sign a Reaffirmation Agreement? http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/should-i-sign-a-reaffirmation-agreement/ 2016-02-11 20:14:58 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/should-i-sign-a-reaffirmation-agreement/ Howard Rothbloom and Adam Herring Honored for Pro Bono Work http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/howard-rothbloom-and-adam-herring-honored-for-pro-bono-work/ Atlanta Legal Aid Society 2015 Volunteers of the Year

]]>
2015-10-20 15:31:09 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/howard-rothbloom-and-adam-herring-honored-for-pro-bono-work/
Georgia Garnishment Statute Found Unconstitutional http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/georgia-garnishment-statute-found-unconstitutional/ 2015-09-10 20:53:27 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/georgia-garnishment-statute-found-unconstitutional/ Update: Supreme Court Halts Chapter 7 Lien-stripping http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/update-supreme-court-halts-chapter-7-lien-stripping/ High Court Ends Option for Atlanta, Georgia Individuals in Bankruptcy.

]]>
2015-06-02 09:56:29 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/update-supreme-court-halts-chapter-7-lien-stripping/
Paying Income Tax Debt: Chapter 13 Bankruptcy vs. IRS Installment Agreement http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/paying-income-tax-debt-chapter-13-bankruptcy-vs-irs-installment-agreement/ 2015-04-28 16:32:19 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/paying-income-tax-debt-chapter-13-bankruptcy-vs-irs-installment-agreement/ How Long Does It Take to File Bankruptcy? http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/how-long-does-it-take-to-file-bankruptcy/ 2015-04-19 19:31:58 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/how-long-does-it-take-to-file-bankruptcy/ Supreme Court to Rule on Chapter 7 Lien-stripping http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/supreme-court-to-rule-on-chapter-7-lien-stripping/ Unique Mortgage Relief Option for Atlanta, Georgia Debtors at Risk

]]>
2015-02-12 15:37:47 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/supreme-court-to-rule-on-chapter-7-lien-stripping/
Howard D. Rothbloom Honored by Peers http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/howard-d-rothbloom-honored-by-peers/ Receives 2014 Louis C. Brown, Jr. Award

]]>
2015-01-02 16:05:43 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/howard-d-rothbloom-honored-by-peers/
Trials in Atlanta, Georgia Bankruptcy Cases http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/trials-in-atlanta-georgia-bankruptcy-cases/ Effectively Resolving Litigation in Bankruptcy Court

]]>
2014-11-25 15:50:28 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/trials-in-atlanta-georgia-bankruptcy-cases/
Filing Proofs of Claim in Atlanta, Georgia Bankruptcy Cases http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/filing-proofs-of-claim-in-atlanta-georgia-bankruptcy-cases/ 2014-10-07 13:24:10 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/filing-proofs-of-claim-in-atlanta-georgia-bankruptcy-cases/ Howard Rothbloom and Adam Herring Recognized as Preeminent Georgia Bankruptcy Attorneys http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/howard-rothbloom-and-adam-herring-recognized-as-preeminent-georgia-bankruptcy-attorneys/ 2014-08-15 10:01:14 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/howard-rothbloom-and-adam-herring-recognized-as-preeminent-georgia-bankruptcy-attorneys/ Why Won’t the Bank Take My House? http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/why-won-t-the-bank-take-my-house/ Many homeowners are fine with giving their houses back to the bank – if the banks would just take them

]]>
2014-05-30 15:55:40 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/why-won-t-the-bank-take-my-house/
Metro Atlanta Foreclosures In Decline http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/metro-atlanta-foreclosures-in-decline-is-the-crisis-over/ Is the crisis over?

]]>
2014-05-23 13:08:06 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/metro-atlanta-foreclosures-in-decline-is-the-crisis-over/
How to Choose the Best Bankruptcy Attorney in Atlanta for You http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/how-to-choose-the-best-bankruptcy-attorney-in-atlanta-for-you/ Four Tips for Selecting an Atlanta Bankruptcy Attorney 

]]>
2014-04-08 11:55:40 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/how-to-choose-the-best-bankruptcy-attorney-in-atlanta-for-you/
Recent Supreme Court Ruling on Exemptions http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/recent-supreme-court-ruling-on-exemptions/ The Bankruptcy Court's power to punish debtor misconduct has its limits.

]]>
2014-03-19 11:52:23 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/recent-supreme-court-ruling-on-exemptions/
Can't Pay the Tax Bill? http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/it-s-tax-season-again-what-if-you-can-t-pay/ Discharging Federal and State Income Tax Liabilities in Chapter 7, Chapter 13, and Chapter 11 Bankruptcies

]]>
2014-03-06 14:06:04 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/it-s-tax-season-again-what-if-you-can-t-pay/
Can I Sue Someone Who is in Bankruptcy? http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/can-i-sue-someone-who-is-bankrupt/ The Bankruptcy Code provides strong protections for debtors—but that protection has its limitations

]]>
2014-02-07 13:26:00 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/can-i-sue-someone-who-is-bankrupt/
The Best Laid Plans of Mice and Men Often Go Awry http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/the-best-laid-plans-of-mice-and-men-often-go-awry/ Clients considering filing for bankruptcy often lament: “I hate having to do this; I just wasn’t raised this way.”  

]]>
2014-01-20 15:54:53 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/the-best-laid-plans-of-mice-and-men-often-go-awry/
Chapter 11 Bankruptcy for Atlanta, Georgia Individuals http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/chapter-11-bankruptcy-for-atlanta-georgia-individuals/ The same protections and advantages that Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code affords to large corporations are available to Georgia individuals in financial distress.

 

]]>
2014-01-02 08:07:46 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/chapter-11-bankruptcy-for-atlanta-georgia-individuals/
Will the Bankruptcy Court take my income after I file a Chapter 7 case? http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/will-the-bankruptcy-court-take-my-income-after-i-file-a-chapter-7-case/ Will I lose any of my income after I file a Chapter 7 bankruptcy case?

]]>
2013-12-26 11:11:54 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/will-the-bankruptcy-court-take-my-income-after-i-file-a-chapter-7-case/
Howard Rothbloom: Among Georgia's Best Bankruptcy Lawyers http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/howard-rothbloom-selected-one-of-the-2013-legal-elite-by-georgia-trend-magazine/ Howard Rothbloom of The Rothbloom Law Firm has been selected as one of the 2013 Legal Elite by Georgia Trend Magazine in the Bankruptcy/Creditors’ Rights practice area.  

]]>
2013-12-18 15:27:03 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/howard-rothbloom-selected-one-of-the-2013-legal-elite-by-georgia-trend-magazine/
When Getting Paid Doesn’t Pay - Defending Preference Actions under Section 547 of the Bankruptcy Code http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/when-getting-paid-doesn-t-pay-defending-preference-actions-under-section-547-of-the-bankruptcy-code/ For an Atlanta, Georgia small business, being paid by a client or customer for a past-due invoice is normally a cause to celebrate. However, when that client or customer happens to then file bankruptcy within 90 days of making that payment, the business’s celebration can quickly become a headache.

]]>
2013-12-13 11:32:10 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/when-getting-paid-doesn-t-pay-defending-preference-actions-under-section-547-of-the-bankruptcy-code/
Homes in Chapter 7 Bankruptcy http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/homes-in-chapter-7-bankruptcy/ “Do I have to include my house in my bankruptcy?”

]]>
2013-07-22 18:22:06 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/homes-in-chapter-7-bankruptcy/
Been There, Done That: Limitations on Multiple Bankruptcy Filings http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/been-there-done-that-limitations-on-multiple-bankruptcy-filings/ How the Bankruptcy Code constrains multiple bankruptcy case filings by limiting how frequently a debtor may receive a bankruptcy discharge, by imposing rules limiting the applicability of the automatic stay in repeat cases, and by imposing limits on frequent filers.

]]>
2013-06-25 11:56:46 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/been-there-done-that-limitations-on-multiple-bankruptcy-filings/
Timing Is [Almost] Everything http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/timing-is-almost-everything/ When to File for Bankruptcy

]]>
2013-05-08 16:26:20 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/timing-is-almost-everything/
Means Testing and Business Debt in Georgia Chapter 7 Cases http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/means-testing-and-business-debt-in-georgia-chapter-7-cases/ An important exception for Georgia business owners.

]]>
2013-04-25 13:08:25 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/means-testing-and-business-debt-in-georgia-chapter-7-cases/
Chapter 7 Bankruptcy for Atlanta, Georgia Small Business Owners http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/chapter-7-bankruptcy-for-atlanta-georgia-small-business-owners/ Privately owned corporations, usually “mom and pop shops”, often times don’t need to file for bankruptcy… but their owners may very well need to.

]]>
2013-02-12 16:49:24 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/chapter-7-bankruptcy-for-atlanta-georgia-small-business-owners/
Tax Relief Hurdles in Bankruptcy http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/income-taxes-and-bankruptcy-part-iii-of-iii/ Why the IRS Might Object to the Discharge of Income Tax Debts in Chapter 7 

]]>
2013-02-06 16:16:35 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/income-taxes-and-bankruptcy-part-iii-of-iii/
Can I Pay Back Taxes in Payments? http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/income-taxes-and-bankruptcy-part-ii-of-iii/ How to Pay Income Tax Debts in Chapter 13 and Stop Interest and Penalties

]]>
2013-01-28 14:50:13 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/income-taxes-and-bankruptcy-part-ii-of-iii/
Can I Wipe Out Taxes in Bankruptcy? http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/income-taxes-and-bankruptcy-part-i-of-iii/ How to Discharge Income Tax Debts in Chapter 7

]]>
2013-01-21 15:21:49 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/income-taxes-and-bankruptcy-part-i-of-iii/
Beware of Loan Modification Scams http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/beware-of-loan-modification-scams/ The popularity of loan modification programs has given rise to an increased number of scam artists targeting borrowers in distress

]]>
2013-01-14 10:34:14 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/beware-of-loan-modification-scams/
Protecting Assets in Georgia Chapter 7 Bankruptcy Cases http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/protecting-assets-in-georgia-chapter-7-bankruptcy-cases/ Careful Planning Allows for Debt Relief Through Bankruptcy Without Loss of Assets

]]>
2013-01-08 13:18:12 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/protecting-assets-in-georgia-chapter-7-bankruptcy-cases/
Second Mortgage Lien Stripping in Georgia Chapter 7 Cases http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/Second-Mortgage-Lien-Stripping-in-Georgia-Chapter-7-Cases/ Recent ruling allows more Georgia homeowners to eliminate second mortgages in bankruptcy

]]>
2012-06-01 07:39:25 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/Second-Mortgage-Lien-Stripping-in-Georgia-Chapter-7-Cases/
Eliminating Second Mortgage Debt in Chapter 13 "Lien Stripping" http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/Eliminating-Second-Mortgage-Debt-in-Chapter-13-Lien-Stripping/ 2012-04-19 15:29:48 http://www.rothbloom.com/blog/Eliminating-Second-Mortgage-Debt-in-Chapter-13-Lien-Stripping/